Articles

30 Days of Outfits Challenge: Day 16

In DIY, Outfits on November 19, 2010 by Naoko Takano

Studded Beret: DIY.  Striped LS Tee: Mossimo (Target).  Beige embroidered bustier dress: Twenty8Twelve.  White Pearl-Button Gloves: DIY.  Polka-dot belt: vintage.  Polka-dot tights: unknown.  Velvet open-toe heels: DbDk Fashion.

Day 16 of my 30 Days of Outfits Challenge: November 16.

I’m getting behind in posting these!  Double time, double time!

After a couple days at home with Lil Tot (who is on the mend, by the way – thank you all so much for your well-wishes and thoughts!)…I’ve gotten a little tired of the schlumping-round-the-house uniform I’ve been in lately.

So I went all out (and maybe went a little Parisian in the process??  Or at least what I think of when I hear the phrase “Parisian”)!

I’ve always felt that hats just don’t suit me…but sometimes I just want to wear them regardless!  I bought the beret at Target, and added a variety of sizes of pyramid studs (from Studsandspikes.com) to add a little bit of edge.

I also love wearing tube dresses or bustier dresses over tops.  It takes a summery piece into winter, and transforms a cocktail dress into a more casual outfit.

The shoes I found at the Buffalo Exchange recently, and I’m still going back on forth on whether to rip off the bows or not.  Maybe I will and add shoe clips to them so I can clip them onto any part of the shoe…a great little trick to make something that’s embellished more versatile!

The gloves I bought in Japan – they’re UV-protectant gloves that Hub said make me look like Michael Jackson – and I didn’t like the bracelet-length style, so I shortened them and added 2 little pearl buttons to make them look like a little vintage 40’s pair that the Portland vintage stores will charge $25 for.

Lil Tot’s fever has now gone down to around 99 – 100 degrees, and his sinus infection seems to be draining slowly, so hopefully a couple more days at home will have him back to normal!

xoxox
Carly

~If you liked this post, please share it!~
5 Responses to “30 Days of Outfits Challenge: Day 16”

  1. I love this outfit! So cute! I love the lipstick you are wearing. Who makes it?

  2. Oh dear…I want this ENTIRE outfit. Love love love.

  3. Adorable outfit!

  4. keep the bows on the shoes! they are adorable and make them unique 🙂

  5. @AngelaHi Angela! Thanks so much for your comment! The lipstick is actually 2 layered on top of each other…the bottom color is Sephora Rouge in R06, which is an orengey-red I've worn before here: http://www.chic-steals.com/2010/11/30-days-of-outfits-challenge-day-9.html (with a little gold metallic lipstick on top) and here: http://www.chic-steals.com/2010/04/how-to-make-ruffled-top-from-mens-shirt.html (by itself). I thought it was too orange for my outfit for this particular post & so layered Revlon's Ultima II “Wine Not 06” over it, and it turned out to be the perfect color!

Leave a Reply

