Articles

Low-Fat Baked Donuts

In Recipes on October 17, 2010 by Naoko Takano

 I’m always confused abut how to spell “donuts.”  Is it “doughnuts?”  They’re made of dough.  But “donuts” is invariably used for the fried, fast-food variety.  So are “donuts” bad for you?

These aren’t!  (Relatively speaking.:-)  These are baked out of a buttermilk batter recipe that uses much less butter than a traditional baked donut recipe – and since they aren’t fried, there’s so much less fat in them.   Since I saw the recipe in the October 2010 issue of Health magazine, I was dying to try them out.  At 140 calories a full-sized donut that’s just awesome!  Plus 8 minutes to fresh-baked donuts – who can beat that??  I wanted to be crowned Best Mom in the Entire World – one who makes DONUTS! (DOUGHNUTS?) for her kid/s.  So I went out and bought two donut pans from my local Sur La Table and got to work.  (You can also buy them from Amazon; the regular size one is about $10; the mini-donut version about $9.)


Baked Buttermilk Donuts
(makes 14 regular-sized donuts)

Ingredients:
*nonstick cooking spray
*1 c whole-wheat flour
*1 c all-purpose flour
*1/2 c sugar
*1.5 tsp baking powder
*1/4 tsp ground nutmeg
*1/2 tsp salt
*3/4 c low-fat buttermilk
*2 large eggs
*1/4 c honey
*2 T melted butter
*1 T vanilla extract

Toppings:
*sprinkles
*powdered sugar mixed with water into a glaze
*cinnamon and sugar
*jam
*melted bittersweet chocolate chips
*nuts (I used crushed hazelnuts)
*shredded coconut
…The sky’s the limit!

1. Preheat oven to 425 degrees F. Lightly coat a doughnut pan with cooking spray.

2. Combine flours and next 4 ingredients (through salt) in a large bowl, stirring well with a whisk.

3. Combine buttermilk, eggs, honey, butter, and vanilla, stirring well with a whisk. Add buttermilk mixture to flour mixture; whisk just until combined.

4. Spoon batter into donut pans, filling 2/3 full** (this is important since they will puff up!!). Bake in middle of oven until donuts spring back when touched and are golden on the bottom (about 8 minutes). Let cool in pan slightly (about 4 min); turn out. Coat with toppings if desired.


So I made.

And I drizzled chocolate, glaze, hazelnuts, sprinkles, and coconut.

And we ate.

So was I crowned Best Mom in the Entire World?  Not exactly sure – but both my boys were all giggly over them for days.

Perhaps not Best Mom…but Funniest Donut-Maker in the Entire World?  No?

Give them a try and see the reactions!  Hope you enjoy!

xoxox
Carly

~If you liked this post, please share it!~
4 Responses to “Low-Fat Baked Donuts”

  1. Oh, I added those pans to my wishlist. I love cooking. 🙂

  2. Yum, those look delicious! As soon as I'm done moving all of my stuff across the country I have *got* to get a donut pan and try these.

  3. Oh delicious! Thanks for the recipe.

  4. I just signed up to your blogs rss feed. Will you post more on this subject?

Leave a Reply

